Advanced search
Start date

Maysa Furlan


Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP). Campus de Araraquara. Instituto de Química (IQ)  (Institutional affiliation from the last research proposal)
Birthplace: Brazil

Professor at the Institute of Chemistry at UNESP, Araraquara. Full member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC) elected in 12/2018. Current Vice-Rector of UNESP (2021-2024). Bachelor in Chemistry from Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP) (1982). Master in Organic Chemistry (1985) and Doctor in Sciences from the University of São Paulo (USP/SP) (1990). He held a Post-Doctorate at the Institute of Biological Chemistry, Washington State University, USA (08/1992-12/1993). Lecturer in Organic Chemistry at the Institute of Chemistry, UNESP, Araraquara in 2000. She was Director of the Institute of Chemistry at UNESP from 2004-2008 and coordinator of the Graduate Program in Chemistry (2000-2004). She was an associate editor of the Journal of the Brazilian Chemical Society, from 2004 to 2006. She was an advisor to the Dean of Research at UNESP, from 2008 to 2016 and coordinator of the Institutional Scientific Initiation Program PIBIC/PIBITI/CNPq of UNESP, from 2012 to 2016. She was an evaluator of FINEP infrastructure projects in 2014, 2015 and 2016. She was interim Dean of Research and Undergraduate Studies at UNESP in 2016. She was a member of the advisory committee for the evaluation of graduate programs in the Chemistry area at CAPES in period 2006-2012 and assistant coordinator of the Chemistry area from 2013-2021. She has been a member of the coordination of the Chemistry area at FAPESP since 2020. She is a member of the Advisory Board of the Brazilian Chemical Society. She collaborates in research with international groups and actively participated in the internationalization program of UNESP, in the period 2012-2016, promoting the dissemination of her research groups and possibilities for scientific exchange during missions and presentations at world-class universities in Germany, Belgium and Canada. She has given several lectures at national and international events. She is a principal researcher at the Center for Research and Innovation in Biodiversity and Pharmaceuticals (CIBFar). She received the Simão Mathias Medal from the Brazilian Society of Sciences for his contribution to the development of Chemistry on 11/24/2021. She has experience in the field of Organic Chemistry, especially in the structural, biological and biosynthetic aspects of Natural Products, with an emphasis on Synthetic Biology. (Source: Lattes Curriculum)

News published in Agência FAPESP Newsletter about the researcher
Articles published in other media outlets (0 total):
More itemsLess items
Research grants
Scholarships in Brazil
Scholarships abroad
FAPESP support in numbers * Updated April 13, 2024
Total / Available in English
Most frequent collaborators in research granted by FAPESP
Contact researcher

Service temporarily unavailable

Keywords used by the researcher
Please report errors in researcher information using this form.

Report errors in this page

Error details: